Haida Ocean Technical Team

The Council of the Haida Nation Marine Planning Program is staffed by the Haida Oceans Technical Team, a group of marine planning professionals who provide expertise and technical support for the CHN’s marine planning and plan implementation initiatives, including:

  • Haida Gwaii Marine Plan
  • Gwaii Haanas Land-Sea-People Plan
  • SGaan Kinghlas-Bowie Seamount Management Plan
  • Pacific North Coast Integrated Management Plan
  • Tri-partite shipping discussions
  • Marine Protected Area network planning for the Northern Shelf Bioregion

In addition, HOTT provides support for other marine-related initiatives, including: reconciliation, cooperative and coordinated management with BC and Canada, and communications and outreach.

Haida engagement in CHN’s marine initiatives draws on the expertise and knowledge of the Haida Marine Work Group, supported by HOTT. Stakeholder engagement related to the CHN’s marine planning initiatives is also supported by the Technical Team in collaboration with marine planning partners.

Manager: TBD
Project Manager and Research Advisor: Lindsay Galbraith
Executive Administrator: Denise Olsson
Spatial Planner/GIS Analyst: Chris McDougall
Marine Planner: Molly Clarkson
Marine Biologist Planner: Lais Chaves
Ecosystem-based Management Coordinator: Stuart Crawford
Marine Economic Development Coordinator: Meghan Cross
Marine Safety and Shipping Coordinator: Jason Thompson
Gwaii Haanas Liason: Catherine Rigg
Contractor: Russ Jones
Intern: Jaasaljuus Yakgujanaas
Intern: Ricky-Lee Watts

Haida Marine Work Group

The Haida Nation formed the Haida Marine Working Group in August 2006 and tasked it with the responsibility of identifying Haida priorities to inform marine planning processes occurring in Haida Gwaii waters. The Working Group continues to meet regularly with the Haida Ocean Technical Team to provide feedback on CHN marine planning and implementation activities.

Council of the Haida Nation
Shawn Cowpar, Robert Bennett
Alternate: William Russ and Tyler Bellis

Hereditary Chiefs Council
Gaahlaay Lonnie Young, Sgaann 7iw7waans Allan Wilson
Alternate: Wigaanad Sidney Crosby

Old Massett Village Council
Ross (John) Parnell
Alternate: Judy Williams

Skidegate Band Council
Trent Moraes
Alternate: Michelle McDonald

Haida Public
Michael McGuire, Daniel McNeill
Alternates: Captain Gold, Willie Davies